“I’ve come to know that memories are the best things you’ll ever have”

Looking back is something I do on a hideously frequent basis. I like to look back on my old life, my old job, the people I used to spend time with, and, of course, that not so wonderful time that forced me to take a new perspective.

But I also love looking back on our travel adventure so far.

The constant need to look ahead and plan and research your next steps can often mean that the things you have done and the places you have been get overlooked. Sometimes I forget we actually lived with an Italian family or learned how to make Norwegian cheese or went to a stupid amount of Spanish festivals. We’ve come far, we’ve been far and we have further to go.

But sometimes it’s really nice to sit back and relive the past memories. The videos we’ve shared and the photos we’ve taken. Even re-reading old blogs has been fun to remember how I felt at the time. It’s rewarding to see what we have achieved in a relatively short space of time. Hopefully it’s also an indicator as to how we have changed.

Peter and I have often discussed this and we’ve both certainly been moulded a little by our experiences. But in many ways we’ve stayed the same as to our values and our inherent British-ness. I have often thought that if you don’t let travel change you then you haven’t done it properly. In fact it’s something I worry about. I’m addicted to travel vlogs and blogs and hearing other people’s travel stories. And it often makes me wonder, have we done it right? Peter will then always tell me that we’ve done it right for us.

And when I look back at us surrounded by Cambodian Bears or snorkelling in New Zealand or recovering after a soaking on a Spanish mountain I know that Peter is right. Travel can take you anywhere and make you into anyone you want to be. It doesn’t matter where you go or what you do, all you have to do is hold on tight, enjoy the rollercoaster ride and make sure you smile for the photo.

Leave a Reply

